Fresh Basil, Sundried Tomato + Walnut Pesto

My previous post showed how simple it is to freeze your fresh garden herbs.  Well, in this post, I used quite a bit of my fresh basil to make this delicious pesto in a snap.  I also love using walnuts in my pesto, they are so nutritious, tasty, and don’t put as much of a dent in your wallet like pine nuts do!

Fresh Basil, Sundried Tomato + Walnut Pesto Recipe

Makes about 1 1/2 cups

Ingredients:

  • Approximately 2 1/2 cups fresh basil leaves, washed
  • 1/2 cup sundried tomatoes, sliced
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 pinch of sea salt
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Pull out your food processor.
  • Place all ingredients into the food processor and whirl until it is well blended.  If you would like it to be a little smoother, add some filtered water and whirl once more.

IMG_7927

IMG_7929

Fresh Basil + Sundried Tomato Pesto

  • Serve on top of whole grain pasta, as a pizza sauce base, a dollop on top of your favourite veggies or your favourite way of having pesto!
  • Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Fresh Basil, Sundried Tomato + Walnut Pesto

  1. I had to come check out your pesto recipe Sophia, and it looks so yummy! How funny that we both used walnuts in our recipes. I love sundried tomatoes, but since I’m experimenting to see if I’m allergic to nightshade veggies I’ll have to wait awhile to try your recipe. I must say that your photos are beautiful! Celeste 🙂

    • Thank you, Celeste!
      I hope your allergies improve, would love to know if avoiding the nightshades and gluten helps. And by the way, your pesto pasta dish photo was the bomb!
      -Sophia 🙂

Leave a Reply

