Greek Orzo Salad

I absolutely adore traditional Greek salad.  Perhaps I am biased.  I am, after all, a Greek Canadian.  Today’s salad takes a twist on the traditional Greek salad, incorporating orzo which I love added cold into salads.  This recipe screams summer, and I was so excited to use all the veggies from our local farmer’s market.  Soon enough, I will be able to use the veggies straight out of my own garden.  Grow little cucumbers, grow!

Greek Orzo Salad Recipe

Serves 6-8

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups orzo, cooked
  • 1 cup pitted kalamata olives, sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups greek feta, crumbled
  • 2 cups small red and yellow tomatoes, sliced
  • 3 small lebanese cucumbers, sliced in quarters
  • 1/2 cup red onion, diced
  • 2 tablespoons fresh oregano, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • juice of 1 lemon

Directions:

  • Cook orzo according to packaging instructions.  Remove from heat, set aside to cool.
  • In a large bowl, add all ingredients.  Add cooled orzo to bowl.
  • Mix well to combine.
  • Serve and enjoy! (Did I mention it’s that simple?)

IMG_8311  IMG_8315

IMG_8331

11 thoughts on “Greek Orzo Salad

  1. Hey Sophia! Another beautiful photo! You have some pretty dishes, I think I need to go shopping for more plates and such. This salad looks delish too! I’d have to omit the feta, but I bet it would still be wonderful. Hope you’re having a good week! Celeste 🙂

    • Always love hearing from you, Celeste! Actually, I went to Home Sense recently (equivalent to Home Goods in the US) and I bought a lot of colourful dishes and bowls on sale. I also find a lot of goodies at second hand shops! I need more storage space 🙂
      About the salad – I think Poppy had posted a really delicious looking homemade vegan feta recipe a while back. I’ll see if I can find it…
      Sophia

Leave a Reply

