Crispy Kale Rice Bowl With Spicy Peanut Sauce

You may have realized by now I love rice bowls of almost any variety.  I was thinking back to many years ago when I had an amazing crispy spinach peanut butter (and shrimp at the time) dish at a Thai restaurant in Montreal, and thought I’d like to replicate it with kale in a veg-friendly way tonight. My husband declared he doesn’t like peanut sauce, and that he’d eat whatever I make regardless because it sounded interesting.  Well, we have zero leftovers and it’s his fault.  I guess he takes it back.

Crispy Kale Rice Bowl With Spicy Peanut Sauce Recipe

Serves 2-4 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown rice, cooked
  • 1 bunch kale (about 1 pound), washed, stems removed, and torn into large pieces
  • 1 red bell pepper, washed, seeds removed, and sliced
  • 2 cups mushrooms (I used cremini), washed, cut into quarters
  • 1 tablespoon fresh garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried chili flakes (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds
  • 1/4 cup chopped unsalted peanuts
  • 1 lime, cut into wedges
  • sea salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

For the peanut sauce:

  • 3 tablespoons natural smooth peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon agave nectar
  • 1 tablespoon gluten-free tamari
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried chili flakes
  • 1 teaspoon grated ginger
  • 1 tablespoon fresh garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons filtered water

Directions:

  • Start by cooking your rice according to packaging instructions and also preheating the oven to 350°F.
  • In a food processor, add all ingredients for the peanut sauce.  Whirl.  Add a bit more water if you would like it to be a creamier consistency, or add more peanut butter if you want it thicker.
  • Lay out kale onto two lightly oiled baking sheets.  Once oven has reached desired temperature, place in the oven for 8 minutes, or until kale is crispy.
  • In a large pan or wok over medium heat, heat the olive oil.  Add garlic and sauté for a few minutes, making sure it doesn’t brown.  Add mushrooms, red pepper, chili flakes (optional), salt and pepper and sauté for another 8-10 minutes.
  • To plate:  spoon rice into bowl, top with red pepper, mushroom, and kale.

Untitled

  • Top with a couple of spoonfuls of peanut sauce and a sprinkle of crushed peanuts and sesame seeds.  Serve with a wedge of lime.

IMG_8388

  • Enjoy!

IMG_8411

5 thoughts on “Crispy Kale Rice Bowl With Spicy Peanut Sauce

  1. I made this tonight and it was Fantastic!! I didn’t have agave, so I used a drizzle of honey and I decreased the olive oil in the peanut sauce to 1 tsp. We loved the crispy kale! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  2. Andrea says:

    I’m so glad I stumbled on this blog (and this recipe!).
    I think the restaurant you were thinking of is chuchai. My and my husband’s favourite though we now live far far far from Montreal.

Leave a Reply

