5 Minute Hot Quinoa Breakfast Cereal

I must admit, I rarely take the time to make breakfast for myself.  Weekdays usually consist of scurrying out of the house with either a breakfast shake or coffee to go.  When I do have an extra few minutes, I love having this warming quinoa cereal which literally takes five minutes to prepare.  Most of us are accustomed to having quinoa as a savoury dish, but this wonderful, protein rich grain is excellent for breakfast.
So, take an extra few minutes for yourself this morning, I sure did.

5 Minute Hot Quinoa Breakfast Cereal Recipe

Makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup organic quinoa flakes
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or water, or other non-dairy beverage of your choice)
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup bananas, sliced
  • 1 teaspoon raw shelled hemp seeds
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon almond slices
  • a drizzle of agave nectar

Quinoa Flakes

Directions:

  • In a small saucepan over high heat, heat almond milk.  Once it’s at a boil, add quinoa flakes, turn down heat and cover.
  • Wait one minute then spoon into a bowl.
  • Top with blueberries and bananas. Then sprinkle the almonds, hemp seeds, and nutmeg over top finishing with a drizzle of agave nectar.
  • Sit back and enjoy!

Hot Quinoa Breakfast Cereal

6 thoughts on “5 Minute Hot Quinoa Breakfast Cereal

  1. The Vegan Green says:

    This sounds great, I’ve never tried quinoa flakes, they obviously cook a lot more quickly than quinoa seeds!

  2. I make quinoa a lot, but I’ve never had it for breakfast. I’ve also never tried quinoa flakes. I usually have oatmeal for breakfast, but this looks just as easy to make and would mix things up a bit. I’ll have to pick up some quinoa flakes the next time I go to Whole Foods. Celeste 🙂

    • Hey Celeste! These cook up so quickly so it’s a great alternative to oats (which are also so good for you and your gut health). I’ve never used quinoa flakes in baking, but they can be used in cookies, muffins or breads as well! It would take some experimenting, because they would soak up moisture for sure…
      Sophia 🙂

Leave a Reply

