Gluten-Free Baking Fail (+ Tips)

Good morning everyone!

I hope you all had a fabulous weekend, I am personally adjusting to being back at work after a couple of weeks off.   This blog usually consists of adventures in the kitchen which make me and my family’s bellies happy.  Well, I spent a lot of time in the kitchen yesterday, which started off with an idea for a banana blueberry nut muffin that was vegan and gluten free.  It was a disaster.  They didn’t rise, they were too mushy, and luckily my four year old was brave enough to eat the crust off of some of them, so they weren’t a complete waste!

Afterwards, I researched some tips in gluten-free baking (and cooking) and found this fantastic post from Gluten Free Goddess.  My kitchen fail turned into your gain! Enjoy, and if you have any tips to add, I would love if you would add them to the comments of this post!

http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.ca/2007/01/cooking-baking-gluten-free-tips-for.html

-Sophia

5 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Baking Fail (+ Tips)

  1. Hi! I would say I struggle the most to cook ‘cake’ gluten-free AND vegan (well aside from breads and pastries, but I’m working on it!). I have many times ended up with a sort of cake soup that was never going to come good! Cookies are fine without an egg, gluten-free and vegan, but something about sponge or muffins is much more problematic. My top tip is therefore, if you really must remove that egg and the gluten, always use a ‘sticky’ egg substitute (flax or chia egg) AND increase other leavening slightly (baking soda or powder) AND add a gluten substitute (I use psyllium husk) AND watch the added fluids. I sometimes add as little as half of the additional liquid called for in the original recipe I’m basing my creation on. You will end up with a heavy result with too little liquid so you must have some, but there is a fine line between that and a batter so loose it will never cook out properly.

    • Hello, your tips are so helpful! I can relate, I haven’t had issues with cookies for the most part, but these muffins unfortunately didn’t work out. I will definitely try again with keeping all these handy tips in mind.
      Thanks for sharing,
      Sophia 🙂

Leave a Reply

