Raw Pad Thai – Gluten-Free, Vegan, Healthy and Delicious

I had a beautiful purple cabbage in the fridge and a few too many zucchinis that I really didn’t want to see go wasted.  I wasn’t anticipating that it would turn out so tasty or colourful, hence, I only took photos of the finished product.  It was one of those Monday nights where I wanted something quick, easy, and fresh.  If you have a mandolin or julienne peeler, this will be quick.  Just watch those fingers.

The sauce for this recipe was the same one I made for my Crispy Kale Rice Bowl With Spicy Peanut Sauce.  I can’t get enough of this creamy, spicy sauce!  The noodles for this recipe are the zucchini and carrot.  So fresh!

Raw Pad Thai Recipe

Serves 4-5

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium zucchinis
  • 2 large carrots
  • 2 cups shredded purple cabbage (a little less than half a head of cabbage)
  • 1 sweet red bell pepper, sliced thin
  • 1/4 cup chives, chopped
  • 1/4 cup almond slivers
  • 1/4 cup sesame seeds

For the peanut sauce:

  • 3 tablespoons natural smooth peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon agave nectar
  • 1 tablespoon gluten-free tamari
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried chili flakes
  • 1 teaspoon grated ginger
  • 1 tablespoon fresh garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons filtered water

Directions:

  • Using a mandolin, julienne the zucchini and carrot.  Toss in a large bowl along with red pepper, chives, almonds and sesame seeds.
  • In a food processor, add all ingredients for the peanut sauce.  Whirl.  Add a bit more water if you would like it to be a creamier consistency, or add more peanut butter if you want it thicker.
  • Pour peanut sauce over vegetables in bowl, and toss to combine.
  • Serve and enjoy!

Raw Pad Thai

21 thoughts on “Raw Pad Thai – Gluten-Free, Vegan, Healthy and Delicious

  1. perfectskinny says:

    yummy it looks so good just look for healthy recipes like yours. Maybe you also want my new blog perfectskinny.wordpress.com 🙂

  2. SkinnyLunches says:

    I love Pad Thai…and this looks and sounds delicious. I will most definitely try out this recipe, I really loved the last one I tried. Never heard of agave nectar here in the uk…anything else I could substitute (I’m not vegan or gluten-free)?

Leave a Reply

