Creamy Vegan Basil Alfredo – Gluten & Guilt Free

Who doesn’t love (and need) a dose of creamy, rich pasta in their lives now and then?  I love creamy pasta dishes, but hate the after effects.  Bloatedness, tiredness, and guilt for the 239128947200 calories I just consumed.  I decided to attempt recreating a healthier, guilt-free alternative tonight. I was pleasantly surprised with its creaminess and overall flavour, which was very reminscent of traditional buttery, creamy alfredo, not to mention a whole lot fresher with my garden basil!  My little guy had two bowls of this tonight, which makes me extra happy.

If you are looking for a simple, go-to vegan creamy sauce recipe, I highly recommend this one.  It was all ready on the table within 30 minutes.

Vegan Creamy Basil Alfredo Recipe

Sauce makes enough for approx. 5-6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 350 grams silken tofu (soft)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened plain almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon gluten-free flour (I used chickpea)
  • 1 package (250 grams) gluten-free penne (I used rice and quinoa)
  • 1 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 teaspoon kosher sea salt
  • freshly ground pepper to taste

Directions:

  • In a large saucepan, boil water, add pasta noodles and cook according to packaging instructions.
  • In a skillet over medium heat, heat olive oil.  Add onion and garlic and sauté for 5 minutes.  Add basil and continue to sauté for an additional 5 minutes.  Turn off heat.

IMG_9671-2

  • Place all remaining ingredients including onion-garlic-basil mixture into a food processor.  Give it a whirl for a few seconds until it is a creamy consistency.

IMG_9680-2

  • Strain pasta, then bring back to the saucepan over low heat along with alfredo sauce.  Gently stir to combine and allow it to heat through for a minute or two.
  • Serve, topped with fresh basil.
  • Enjoy!

Creamy Vegan Alfredo

Creamy Vegan Alfredo

23 thoughts on “Creamy Vegan Basil Alfredo – Gluten & Guilt Free

    • Hello Hannah – I totally agree! I haven’t had it in years, it was always so tempting, but then I felt so sick, it just wasn’t worth it!
      I am really glad you like this healthier alternative. Definitely not followed by stomach aches. 🙂

  1. Justine M says:

    I have a question about unsweetened almond milk… do you make your own or is there a brand that offers unsweetened? Last I checked they all had a sweetener and preservatives in it. I adore your blog btw! Thanks for so many tasty recipes. Your family is lucky!!

    • Hello Justine!
      I am so glad you like it, thanks for the lovely comment.
      As for almond milk, I make it myself. It’s cheap and easy. Would you like a recipe?
      I’m heading to the health food store later today, I’ll have a look at a few different ones that might contain less ingredients (no preservatives). Keep you posted!
      Sophia 🙂

  2. OMG. That looks absolutely amazing! I make my own version of that (I think there is a photo on my blog at MeatyVegan.com) that is essentially cashew cream, lemon, a little sea salt and basil. Seriously, an omnivore would devour this stuff! I have to try your recipe!

    • Hello – I’m glad you like it! I love basil, I can’t get enough, I have two plants growing nicely in my garden. I love chopping it up in fresh salads, including chickpea/bell pepper salads, and of course in all tomato sauces….but onto the almond milk. 🙂
      It is really easy to do, you will basically soak the almonds overnight, then process in a blender/food processor with double the water, then strain through cheesecloth, finally, adding sweetener if you choose to (such as vanilla, agave, honey). You know what, I’ll do a post on it in the next few days, it’s well worth it! It’s so easy and inexpensive to make it ourselves, and the ingredients consist of two things, almond and water unlike the conventional ones from the grocery store.
      By the way we always have chocolate soy in the house though, we just love it so much in coffee (like a cafe mocha!) and my little guy loves it as well.
      Sophia 🙂

  3. Amanda says:

    HI Sophie, I just made this delicious pasta and it is perfect thank you, although there is excess sauce, is it freezable by any chance.

    • Hello Amanda!
      I am so glad you tried it and liked it!
      It does make several servings, and unfortunately, I am not sure it’s a great idea to freeze it. Freezing tofu changes the texture, and I’m afraid it wouldn’t be so creamy once defrosted!
      Hope this helps 🙂
      Sophia

Leave a Reply

