Confessions of a Food Blogger

If you don’t know much about me, then I’d like to let you in on a little something.  When I met my husband six years ago, he worked in a kitchen at an adorable bistro in beautiful Old Montreal.  He had worked there for almost ten years.  He was the cook in the relationship, going as far as preparing my sandwiches for lunch.  I really didn’t know the first thing about cooking.  I wouldn’t dare experiment when cooking with a recipe, I followed it precisely, in hopes that I wouldn’t screw it up.  This went on for years.  I was completely dependent on my husband and his culinary skills.  I was spoiled!
When I adopted a vegetarian diet three years ago, everything changed.  I became extremely curious about plant based ingredients and how I can develop a recipe with them.  I still sucked in the kitchen at the beginning, but I cannot believe how far I’ve come.  I cook for my family every night of the week.  I focus on creating nutritious, tasty, satisfying meals with simple ingredients.  This has always been our style of cooking; we like simple, down to earth meals that are absolutely delicious and do not leave you wanting something more.

Sometimes, amongst all the fantastic food blogs I follow, I feel like I am the only one who once had nothing to offer culinary wise.   You’re all so special, creative, and talented!  Today, I am no pro and still have much to learn, but if I can make my family and friends’ bellies happy, and share with all of you something interesting enough that you actually try yourself at home, I am totally satisfied and happy.

I read this post today on the most beautiful and successful vegan blog, Oh She Glows, where Angela let us in on how she started.  It was so relatable, and I thought some of you may appreciate it as well, if indeed, you are like me (and Angela), and once sucked.
If you take something from this post, you should know I’ve had my fair share of judgement – about my diet choices, my blog (and the reason for its existence amongst thousands of other food blogs), my capabilities, my lifestyle, etc.  It took a long time to realize it, but I have finally accepted that when others are negative, it is simply a reflection of how unhappy they are with themselves.  It truly has nothing to do with me.  So I’ll keep drinking my green juice, and encourage you to keep on, too!

photo

Here is a quote from Angela today on Oh She Glows:

“This summer marks my fourth year since I started experimenting with vegan recipe development. In what feels like the blink of an eye, I’ve shared over 400 recipes (and many more photos) with you on this blog. When I started out I didn’t know how to cook a simple potato or chop an onion. Seriously. Thankfully, the wondrous internet reassured me that I was not the only person to ever type such a question into a search engine. Whew. Aside from cooking, I’d never shot a picture of food in my life, nor did it ever cross my mind to do so. Now, a day doesn’t go by when I don’t pick up my camera or chef’s knife.”

Read more: http://ohsheglows.com/#ixzz2c3U7HZ37

19 thoughts on “Confessions of a Food Blogger

  1. You’re not the only one! I can’t tell you how many times a cooking experiment ended with me in tears when I first started cooking for myself (and occasionally even now). Maybe we should all write about it, it might make other people feel better.

  2. You are truly an inspiration, Sophia! Thanks for sharing your confessions and I will continue to drink my green smoothies etc., without caring what others say! 🙂

    • Violet, that is so kind!
      Keep drinking your greens, I sure will! I love the quote from Eleanor Roosevelt, “Do what you feel in your heart to be right, for you will be criticized anyway.”
      Sophia 🙂

  3. I love, love, love this post Sophia! For most of my life I was a lazy and terrible cook. My ex-boyfriend told me, “You don’t cook with love.” I just didn’t want to take the time to cook, so I mostly nuked frozen food for dinner. When my husband and I went vegan, however; I couldn’t do this anymore. I had no choice but to teach myself how to cook. I’ve still got much to learn, but I’ve come a long way. You most certainly have come a long way too Sophia. I love your blog, your recipes, your photography and your charm! Thank you for being an inspiration to me and to so many others!! Celeste 🙂

    • Celeste, thanks so much for sharing your experiences as well! There’s always room to learn more, and I definitely agree, we’ve come a long way, and are continuing to grow. This is a great platform to connect, share, and be inspired by eachother.
      Thanks for the lovely compliments as well! Sophia 🙂

  4. Create Grace says:

    Thank you for sharing. I used to think that a healthy meal involved the frozen diet meal section, and whatever was marked 2 for $5. LOL

    • Hehe, thanks for sharing that! I love when people tell me they got a bag of chicken wings or egg rolls for ONLY 5 bucks! I’m like, that doesn’t impress me. 😉

    • Johanna, I love hearing your stories! Thanks so much for sharing. I am SO honoured you have nominated me. Much, much appreciated. A big congrats to you on your award, you are so deserving of it.
      Sophia 🙂

  5. Sounds like you have come a long way with your cooking journey. I would never of known! All your food looks so good and well executed. I also love Angela. She really is inspirational and really made me see that it was possible for vegan food to exciting when I first started out.

Leave a Reply

