Mushroom Gravy Over Quinoa and Swiss Chard

There was a time when I didn’t attempt to cook anything outside of a cookbook.  Nowadays, I am still addicted to collecting, flipping through, admiring, and finding inspiration in my many cookbooks.  However, now I usually cook based on my mood, ingredients on hand, and inspiration from all sorts of places. With the weather cooling, I was really in the mood for a hearty gravy sauce to add to my vegetables and grains. This recipe is so simple and quick to make. My husband was devouring this, and thinking up so many meals we can serve this gravy over.

I served our gravy over quinoa and delicious swiss chard, probably my favourite green.  Here is the recipe for the gravy.  As for the quinoa, I always like to prepare it like I did here, #2 in the directions.  As for the chard, simply place in a skillet with a touch of water, sea salt and pepper.  Cook for a few minutes until slightly wilted.

Mushroom Gravy Recipe

Makes approx. 2cups

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 cup kamut flour
  • 1 cup non-dairy milk
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 package (8 oz.) white mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon rubbed sage
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • sea salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Whisk nutritional yeast and flour together with non-dairy milk and set aside.
  • Using a skillet over medium heat, add olive oil.  When warm, add garlic, onions and mushrooms.  Cook over high heat until mushrooms start to soften and turn brown.
  • Add non-dairy milk mixture, soy sauce, and herbs, stirring to combine.
  • Bring to a boil and continue to cook until thick.
  • Season with salt and pepper.
  • Serve warm over quinoa and swiss chard.
  • Enjoy!

IMG_0187-2

12 thoughts on “Mushroom Gravy Over Quinoa and Swiss Chard

  1. this looks fantastic! I’m the opposite from you actually – I don’t own many cookbooks, and I barely look through the ones I do have. I just love the internet so much more!

    • The internet is definitely super convenient and inspiring as well. There’s just something about flipping through the pages, looking at the photos, that calms me and makes me happy.
      Sophia 🙂

  2. Dear Sophia, Pleased to meet you! 😀
    I’m neither a vegan nor vegetarian. However, I like to learn and be able to cook for my beloved vegan/vegetarian friends, but not educated in the substitutes to make varieties of delectable dishes.
    I am studying through blogs like yours. This recipe/dish is fabulous and I can eat without thinking that I am eating a vegan dish. I have a question. What does nutritional yeast do? I don’t know anything about it. Thank you, Fae.

    • Hello Fae! It’s great to meet you, too. 🙂
      I love your interest in vegan/veg cooking – it’s great! I have to tell you, you picked the perfect recipe here to feed omnivores and herbivores alike. The gravy is so great over many different veggies and grains. As for the nutritional yeast, the name can be deceiving, like it would make something rise like the yeast used in bread. It doesn’t do that. 😉 This yeast is harvested on beet and cane molasses and it’s very popular for vegans because it offers a ‘cheesy’ flavour to your dishes! I especially love sprinkling it on popcorn, my favourite snack. 🙂 I discovered it because I had a B12 deficiency and it turns out ‘nooch’ (it’s nickname) has about 200% of your daily recommended intake of B12. So it’s a win win. 🙂 It’s very versatile – you can pick it up at any health food store and try it over potatoes, vegetables, in sauces, in savoury baking, in soups, etc…
      Would love to know what you think of it!
      Sophia 🙂

Leave a Reply

