The Healthiest Blueberry Oat Bars + DIY Project: Organizing Your Spice Cabinet

I love cooking with herbs and spices, so I have a lot.  Having so many different spices means they came from different stores, in different bags, containers, etc.  It can become an unorganized mess, so this weekend, I decided to tackle the spice cabinet!  With the New Year freshly among us, one can be inspired to de-cluttler their every day life, and I personally find it makes a huge difference in my motivation, productivity, and overall happiness.  Sounds a little crazy when we’re merely talking about the spice cabinet, but I think most of us keep it quite messy and it becomes such a nuisance when you are cooking and looking for that one needed spice.

The nice thing is, this was a very inexpensive project, and is so satisfying when you are done.  It did take me a little bit of time because I was very meticulous about writing as neatly as possible, and I have a ton of spices as you now know.  All you need are small spice jars, a fine tip sharpie marker, and 1 inch transparent mailing seals.  The spice jars I used are commonly found at Ikea but I found the exact same ones at the dollar store, 3 for $1.00.  Total score.

The process is simple:

  1. Clean out the cabinet completely.
  2. Carefully fill each jar with your spices and herbs.
  3. Using a fine tip sharpie marker, write the name of the spice/herb on each mailing seal, then carefully peel off.
  4. The 1″ mailing seals fit perfectly on the groove of these dollar store (or Ikea) jars.  Stick them onto the groove of the jar and press down lightly.
  5. Place the jars in the cabinet, and if you want to be even more organized, do so in an alphabetical manner.
  6. Enjoy the organization and overall neatness of your spice cabinet.  Force the husband to maintain it.

IMG_2171-2

Organizing Spice Cabinet IMG_2162-2

Organizing Spice Cabinet

Now, onto the healthiest blueberry oat bars I’ve ever made! These are really delicious, but not very sweet, aside from the natural sweetness of the blueberries and small amount of maple syrup.  You can always use more natural sweetener but I would encourage you to try them as the recipe calls for.  Let’s kick that sweet tooth this year, shall we?!

These blueberry oat bars are vegan, with no refined sugars, no refined flours, no added fat, and have a gluten free option by simply using gluten free oats.

The original recipe was adapted from Fat Free Vegan, which is a super vegan blog.  Susan lost 100 pounds from adopting a vegan diet.  How incredible is that?  Plants for the win.

Vegan Blueberry Oat Bars

Blueberry Oat Bars Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 pint blueberries
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup apple juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch mixed with enough water to form a smooth paste (a little less than 2 tablespoons)
  • 3 cups oats (regular, not instant) + more from sprinkling
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 ounces unsweetened applesauce
  • 6 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 6 tablespoons water
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375°F. Lightly grease an 8×8 inch baking dish.  I used a smaller rounded dish, but if you have it, definitely use the 8×8, all the measurements of ingredients will fit perfectly.
  • In a small saucepan, combine the blueberries, 1/4 cup maple syrup, and juice. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat. When it boils, stir in the vanilla and the cornstarch mixture. Continue to stir as the mixture boils and thickens. Remove from heat and set aside.

IMG_2198-2

  • Put 1 1/2 cups of the oats into a blender and grind it to a fine powder. Pour it into a medium-sized mixing bowl and add the remaining 1 1/2 cups oats, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt. Mix well. Stir in the apple sauce, remaining 6 tbsps of maple syrup, 6 tbsps of water, and 1 tsp of vanilla, and mix well.
  • Spread half of the batter into the prepared pan, smoothing well to cover the bottom of the pan. Spoon the blueberry filling over the batter, and cover the blueberries with the remaining batter.  Add a sprinkle of oats overtop.

IMG_2199-2 IMG_2203-2 IMG_2207-2

  • Bake for 30 minutes, or until the top is lightly browned. Allow to cool before cutting into bars.
  • Enjoy!

IMG_2231-2

IMG_2221-2
IMG_2232-2

26 thoughts on “The Healthiest Blueberry Oat Bars + DIY Project: Organizing Your Spice Cabinet

    • Thank you, Emma! Yes her blog is so amazing. I’ve always known about it but just started following her on Facebook so I’m more in tune with her posts.
      As for the space, I hear ya! When I lived in my apartment there was no chance of doing this. 😉
      Sophia

  1. Your spice organising looks uber efficient! I tried that with our herb/spice cupboard a few weeks ago and it’s already messy again … and it never looked as classy as your’s does 😉
    Those blueberry bars look to die for!

  2. Alphabetical order! Sophia, you’re crazier than I am about organising! 😀 Love your jars. My current jars are all food-grade-plastic because I have a lot of containers (Spices, grains, flours, nuts, blah blah) and couldn’t afford glass jars but my next home (or next kitchen re-do!) will have cute glass jars for sure. Those and a herb garden, fingers crossed! Lovely looking bars btw!

    • Hehe 🙂 ya I can get a little crazy with it for sure. Your future plans sound lovely- yay for herb gardens too! I’m still using frozen herbs from last summer, it’s just great.
      Sophia 🙂

  3. Do you want to come over and do my spice drawer next – hehe! Those Blueberry Oat Bars look moist and delicious. Now that’s the kind of thing I wish I found at the coffee shops my husband and I went to for breakfast while on our vacation, but no such luck. Happy New Year chica! Celeste 🙂

    • Welcome back!! Look forward to hearing about your travels.
      The blueberry bars were really great and healthy. 🙂
      Wouldn’t it be nice if I could simply swing by! Haha.

  4. Love your organized spice jars!! You’re super organized! 🙂 I’m looking forward to trying your delish and healthy oat bars soon. They look sooooo good! 🙂

    • I have my moments, Violet! Things can get hectic and messy and then it gets to a point where I just can’t work or live like that. 😉
      So far- the spices are still looking good. Hehe.
      Sophia 🙂

  5. I’m loving the look of these wonderful Blueberry oat bars. My friend Andrea has inspired me to try oat bars with greengage and also a date filling… yummy!
    Made me smile when you mentioned ordering the spices alphabetically. My mum is a real horder (quite chaotic in many ways) but her spices are always in alphabetical order 😉

    • Hello! I actually had to google ‘greengage’ to see what they were. 😉 If you’re saying dates and plums, I wish I could have a piece, sounds awesome! 😉
      It’s ironic, because I can let things get quite chaotic at home as well, and then I get a little crazy with the organizing.
      Thanks for stopping by,
      Sophia

  6. What great organization Sophia! I so need to invest in some of those jars, I have the same odd shaped and sized container issue… And those blueberry bars look scrummy!!

Leave a Reply

