Banana Nut Crumb Muffins

Banana Nut Crumb Muffins

Everyone in my house is under the weather and being that I found some energy today, I knew we needed a treat to lift our spirits.  I had way too many bananas that were very ripe (we can never get through bananas fast enough it seems), so I knew I wanted to base the recipe around those suckers.  I have a staple, go-to banana muffin recipe which I make without having to think or look at ingredients, but I wanted something more indulgent.  I decided the best way to take them to the next level was with a crumb top.  Everything is better with crumble topping, right?

I didn’t want to use up all my newfound energy, so I did not pull out the mixer, and I used only one bowl.  These muffins, I tell you, are so moist, perfectly sweet, filling, and really nicely textured.  They were made for your morning coffee.  Oh, and they are vegan.

I must say, they definitely put a smile on some faces today.  Thank goodness for crumble toppings.

Banana Nut Crumb Muffins

Makes 11 muffins

Adapted from Minimalist Baker

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 1/2 cups spelt flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped

Crumble Top:

  • 1/4 cup raw sugar
  • 5 tablespoons spelt flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons vegan butter (I used Earth Balance)

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  • Pour applesauce into a large bowl.  Add banana and mash with a fork.
  • Add brown sugar, baking soda, and salt.  Whisk for about one minute.
  • Add vanilla and melted coconut oil and stir.
  • Add flour and oats and stir with a spatula until just combined. Fold in walnuts.
  • Divide batter among 11 lined muffin tins, I used silicone muffin cup liners.
  • Wipe down your mixing bowl and add crumble ingredients. Mash with a fork until you get a crumbly consistency.  Spoon crumble over muffin tops.

IMG_3906-2 copy

  • Bake for 22 minutes or until tops are golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool slightly, then remove from muffin tin and serve.  You can store leftovers in an airtight container at room temperature for about 5 days.
  • Enjoy!

Banana Nut Crumb Muffins

IMG_3959-2

Banana Nut Crumb Muffins

Banana Nut Crumb Muffins

32 thoughts on “Banana Nut Crumb Muffins

  1. connie.n.w. says:

    they look so yummy! i was also planning on making some kind of banana dessert because i also can’t seem to get through them all. i like to put walnuts and chocolate chips in them. they’re also super tasty to heat up so the chocolate melts a little. i’m going to save this recipe though. thanks!

  2. This is gorgeous Sophia and I am loving the blog make over! For some reason I have missed on your posts lately. Time for clean up I guess as you suggested! These banana nut muffins look awesome. I have some ripe bananas so I might be making these. 🙂
    I hope you feel better now!

  3. That crumble top looks so inviting Sophia! I have a weakness for crunchy, crumbly crumbles!! I’m sure these worked wonders to lift all of your spirits and give you some fuel to heal. 😀

  4. These look so delicious, and your photos are beautiful! I will definitely try to make these soon. I’m not a fan of walnuts, do you think they might taste good if I subsitute almonds?

Leave a Reply

