Raspberry + White Chocolate Scones

When I was a student a hundred years ago, my diet consisted of coffee and my favourite coffee shops’ addictive scones.  I absolutely loved the tartness of the raspberries combined with the hidden surprises of white chocolate chunks.  I’ve been meaning to recreate them for years, and finally got around to it last week.  My homemade version is a healthier version inspired by those scones in my college days and also from Babycakes cookbook.

Raspberry + White Chocolate Scones

Makes 8 scones

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups kamut flour (or spelt, or whole wheat)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup sunflower oil, plus more for brushing
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar, plus more for brushing
  • 1/4 cup hot water
  • 1 cup fresh raspberries, washed
  • 1/4 cup vegan white chocolate drops

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder, and salt together.  Add the oil, agave nectar, and vanilla and stir together.
  • Pour the hot water into the batter and mix.
  • Gently fold in the raspberries and white chocolate drops.

IMG_0680-2

  • Scoop 1/3 cup batter onto the baking sheet, spacing the scoops 1 inch apart to allow them to spread.  Lightly brush the tops with oil.

IMG_0684-2

  • Bake the scones for 20 minutes rotating the sheet half way through.  If needed, bake for a little longer until they are golden and slightly firm.
  • Remove from oven and brush with agave nectar.
  • Allow to cool on the baking sheet for 10 minutes, remove and let cool completely on a wire rack.
  • Can be stored in an airtight container for up to 2-3 days on the counter.
  • Enjoy!

IMG_0692-2

 

 

45 thoughts on “Raspberry + White Chocolate Scones

  1. Have just Googled kamut as I’d never heard of it. Huh, seems it must be for sale over here. Although it’s expensive to order online. Ouch. Anyway, love that your scones are quite different to British ones. These I’m intrigued by as that combination of raspberries and white chocolate has to be amazing. Maybe I’ll just use my organic spelt! That’s when I actually remember to buy measuring cups.

    • Hello! I most often bake with spelt, so go ahead and try that, I’m sure it will work great. The combination of the berries and white chocolate, I must say, was so darn good! 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Sophia

    • Thanks, Priya! Green is my favourite colour. 🙂
      As for your question, it’s a good one. Firstly, scones in general are kind of seperated into two categories. They are traditionally light and crumbly in the UK, and go alongside morning tea. Usually not sweet. But in North America, they are commonly sweetened with currants or berries (or in my case chocolate 🙂 and are sometimes more dense but still crumbly. Besides this, my version is vegan, omitting all the butter which results in a less traditional unflaky version. The shape can be triangular or more round (like mine). Ahhh! So what is the difference, they can be quite similar depending how you make them. More flour in scones, more leavening….I think it’s the best way I can describe it. 🙂

  2. I’ve discovered your blog through Celeste’s! These scones look absolutely gorgeous and truly tempting! Where did you find the white chocolate drops – these look so cool?! I love that green brush – we have one like this!

    • Thanks for stopping by! Your blog is fantastic, might I add. 🙂
      The white chocolate drops are from a small shop in Montreal called The Health Tree. I was super excited to find them as well!
      Isn’t the silicone brush great? I just got it!
      Sophia 🙂

  3. Looks amazing – I love raspberry & white chocolate together. I’ve never seen vegan white chocolate anywhere but I’ll check amazon … I guess regular chocolate would be just as good (I say, knowing it totally wouldn’t be!) 🙂

  4. The photography and recipes on your blog are amazing! You’re definitely an inspiration for me as a new vegan cook/blogger (and I’m not just saying that because we have the same layout 😉 ) thanks!

    • Hi there! Thanks so much for your lovely comments and for stopping by here. Have fun with your new vegan and blogging journey! I will definitely be visiting your blog next.
      Sophia 🙂

  5. HI Sophia! Your scones look absolutely scrumptious and seems very easy to make from your recipe. 🙂 I love scones and hope to make them soon when I have more time!! Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

  6. When I was a student a thousand years ago, I did mocha latte’s and bran muffins. And get this – I thought I was eating pretty healthy. Anywho, your scones look amazing!! Celeste 🙂

  7. I keep missing your posts! These are too beautiful! I was such a white chocolate girl when I was little 🙂 I was addicted to milkybar buttons! Now I love chocolate as dark as possible but these scones would be a lovely change.

  8. healthy scones feels like such an oxymoron! I’ve been dreaming of a good cream scone for a few days now, but all that fatty dairy is putting me off! this looks like a great option 😀

Leave a comment